• You cannot reply to this topic
46 replies to this topic

#1 Emzy kay1

Forum Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 05:53 PM

I am doing a project where I am investigating whether a proposal for uniting the police force and the CPS into one unit that carries out the investigation and prosecution of criminal offences is a more effective method of dealing with criminal offences. Do you think this proposal meets the overiding objective of the Criminal Procedure Rules. Your thoughts and opinions on this will be highly beneficial for me.

#2 Brian

Forum Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2280 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 06:11 PM

Standby for incoming....Wink

Calling Penbwich.....

This has been brought to you during a brief encounter with reality from my otherwise bizarre world.

#3 BIkerider

Forum Member

• Moderators
  • 7713 posts
  • LocationNorth Yorkshire

Posted 03 March 2011 - 06:11 PM

I was an operational police officer when the CPS was pushed upon us (since retired) and the theory behind it was partially to make the detection and prosecution side entirely separate entities. By doing what you suggest would be stepping back 25 years.

Many of the contributors to the forum would agree getting rid of the CPS would be no bad thing. (I am one) To many CPS is an overweight, over bureaucratic,  very expensive, out of touch, time wasting dinosaur which is apparently answerable to no-one. In my opinion and I am well placed to give this one, - they are largely responsible for the mountains of paperwork required by them for a court case. 

Kingy from Tyneside

Sometimes I sits and thinks. Other times I just sits!

#4 Penbwlch

King of Penbwlch

• Moderators
  • 67615 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 07:10 PM

Calling Penbwich.....

I'm here.