• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 canadianloafer

Forum Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 81 posts

Posted 08 July 2009 - 08:58 PM

Just a word of warning for those thinking of leaving the UK police service and working overseas with the intention of returning... Here is my story....

I have been a police officer since 1987. I answered an ad for the Royal Cayman Islands Police in 2005 and was successful. I tried to get a career break from the Met but was unable to do so. I ended up resigning on 4/10/05 and starting with the Cayman islands Police (RCIP) on 5/10/05. My contract ends at the end of this year so I applied to come back to the Met rather than stay on in the Cayman Islands (personal reasons). I filled out the re-joiners pack, flew back to the UK, passed my medical, fitness etc. Then I was told...Sorry we can't vet you as you have been out of the country too long. Now this problem may only be specific to the met as they apparantly have the highest vetting standards in UK (I haven't applied tpo anywhere else as yet). I tried to point out that since I left I have been a continuously serving police officer (in a UK territory no less!) and also provided police clearance certs, letter from employer, references etc etc but to no avail! So being a cop in a UK overseas territory for more than 2 years means they cant trust you to do a job you've been doing for 18 years prior to leaving UK!!!  And here is the kick in the teeth... a uk colleague of mine in the RCIP (from another force) was over here on a career break. He walked straight back into his old job..  So they can vet you if you are on a career break but not if you have resigned...  The difference as to why he could be vetted and not me?? They couldn't answer that!!!  So if you ARE thinking of going abroad to try something different (not neccessarily policing) be warned and check the rules with your force before you leave!  Peace.

#2 M&MBM

Author of Death in Spigg's Wood